Flow Help
Flow Help
Search…
⌃K
Links

Web client

The new Novacura web client was released on 31 January 2023 and the legacy client will be deprecated as of 31st January 2024. The legacy and new web clients can be used in parallel until the legacy client is removed.
The Novacura Flow Web Client is used to run workflows created in the Studio. Users and menu access are created and set in the Studio.
The Web Client is a single-page WebAssembly-based app. It is downloaded to the user's web browser before running, and processing is done mostly on the user's hardware.
Updates to the Web Client are automatically made available whenever the Web Client is active in the browser. If the Web Client is currently running in the user’s browser at the time an update is made available, the user will be prompted to update. If the Web Client is not currently running in the user’s web browser, the updated version will be automatically installed the next time the Web Client is accessed.

Access

The link to the web client is available in Novacura Downloads.

System information

Download size

The new Web Client has a larger disk space footprint than the previous client. This means that initial load times (including updates) may be greater than those of the legacy web client.

WebForm client

There is a WebForm version available for the web client, also on the Novacura Download site, which can be used if there is a limitation in browser capacity. The WebForm is installed on the computer (only supported on Windows) and can utilize more CPU.
Note that the signature control does not work in the WebForm client.
Note that the WebForm client must be updated manually from the Novacura Download site.

Legacy web client

The old and new web clients can be used in parallel.

Installation

For new Flow installations where the first installation is done on version 6.13.18 or 6.14.10 (or later), it's just to click on the web client URL and start using it.
For existing Flow installations on versions before 6.13.18 or 6.14.10, a change in the server web config file is required as part of the service pack installation to 6.13.18 or 6.14.10 (or later).

Novacura Cloud customers

Log a ticket in JSM if you do not already have access to the Web Client.

On-premise installations 6.13

Server web config edit:
  • Add the AllowedHeaders key in the “AppSettings” element: <add key="AllowedHeaders" value="Origin, X-Requested-With, Content-Type, Accept, device_id, language, session_key, sitting_key, user, bearer, flow-user-name, authorization" />
  • In the "system.webServer" section, under "validation" add: <modules>
    <add name="PreferenceFileModule" type="NovaCura.Flow.Server.PreferenceFileModule" />
    </modules>

On-premise installations 6.14

Server web config edit:
  • Add the AllowedHeaders key in the “AppSettings” element: <add key="AllowedHeaders" value="Origin, X-Requested-With, Content-Type, Accept, device_id, language, session_key, sitting_key, user, bearer, flow-user-name, authorization" />
  • In the HttpModules section under “ApplicationInsightsWebTracking” add: <add name="PreferenceFileModule" type="NovaCura.Flow.Server.PreferenceFileModule"/>
  • In the Modules section under “ApplicationInsightsWebTracking” add: <add name="PreferenceFileModule" type="NovaCura.Flow.Server.PreferenceFileModule"/>

Connect and sign in

Open the Novacura Flow client, enter the Flow server address, and press connect. The server information can be entered in multiple ways:
  • Recent servers - click to connect, the most recently used servers will be shown in the list
  • Enter PIN: enter the Pin Code visible on the Server Page.
  • Enter server address manually: enter the server address above manually to connect.
Once connected to the server enter the user name. Depending on the setup, you will be prompted to connect using OpenId Connect or to enter one or many passwords. These passwords are either your Flow login password OR passwords for logging in to a connected system, for example, your ERP system.
Click Disconnect to disconnect from the server.
For User setup, see User configuration

Settings

The following user-specific settings are available for the Novacura Flow app:
  • Language - use to change the app language. A change in the app will update the user language in the Flow Studio. If no language has been set in the Studio the device language will be used, if it is one supported by Novacura Flow, else English.
  • Autoload workflows - if enabled, the Flow client will automatically refresh the workflow menu every time you open the application or come back from a workflow. If Flow is used for offline work, it is recommended that this setting is disabled.
  • Autofocus input - focus will be set in the first input field, text or numeric if it is the first interactive control of the user step. Auto focus works differently in the web client compared to the mobile clients, where the focus is only set if the overall first input field is of type text or numeric input. This is because the work area for mobile clients normally is a lot smaller than for the web client and if a user step contained a long text followed by an input field, the user would have to scroll up to see all the text, thus running the risk of missing essential information.
  • Expand user step - the user step utilizes the full available screen width if the user step contains a grid or a calendar. This setting is the default in the workflows but can be overridden on individual user steps by using the Expand / Collapse button. The CLEAR button removes all user changes and sets the used screen width back to default in all user steps.
  • Sound on error - if active will give a beep when something goes wrong in the Flow, for example when scanning text into a number input field.
  • Keep-Alive connection - if enabled, it tries to keep an open HTTP connection to the server (which is a good thing). Keep-Alive connection is the default to true.
  • Grid settings - Select the default number of rows shown per page in the grid and the calendar grid. This setting is the default in the workflows but can be overridden on individual user steps by using by changing the row number in a grid. The CLEAR button removes all user changes and sets the rows per page used back to default in all user steps.
To manage settings from a central place, see manage settings.

Server Info

Server info gives information about the server the user is connected to; name, URL and version.
There is also information about the web client version and the shortcut keys supported in the client.